Subscription Resources
- African-American History This link opens in a new window Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture.
- American Government (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
- American History This link opens in a new window American History - American History is a resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
- American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window American History surveys American history from the colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation's rise to eminence as a global superpower, analyzing American political conflict, economic development, and changing culture and thought.
- American Indian History This link opens in a new window American Indian History offers fast access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
- Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key eras, civilizations, and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
- Bloom’s Literature This link opens in a new window Bloom’s Literature is a comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions, plus author biographies and character analyses, full-length poems, the full text of hundreds of reference books, full-length videos of classic plays and films, and more.
- Britannica This link opens in a new window Britannica includes encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
- Flipster This link opens in a new window Flipster is online platform for digital magazines in which your library subscribes
- Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowGale Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences.
- Gale Books and Authors This link opens in a new window Gale Books and Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging Gale's entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale General OneFile provides access to a number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource
- Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window Gale in Context: High School is an online reference source for a information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: U.S. History is for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Gale Literature Resource Center - Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
- Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: High School Edition provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for middle- and high-school students to use for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a range of subjects—from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
- Image Quest This link opens in a new window
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- Issues & Controversies History This link opens in a new window Issues & Controversies History is a concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical dispute, each article is supported by a timeline and a wealth of primary sources.
- Modern Genocide (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
- Modern World History This link opens in a new window
- Poetry and Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- SIRS This link opens in a new window
- Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window US Newsstream provides access to the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Washington Post, Baltimore Sun, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
- World At War (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society presents overviews of 50 wars, rebellions, and revolutions, both those commonly taught and those less so, and provides additional analysis of causes and consequences and portraits of opponents. The effect is to elucidate the global impact of these military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today such that students and researchers may develop a deeper, critical appreciation of both the history of the world and the human costs of war.
- World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
- World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Public Library Resources (library card required)
CCPS students have a digital library card that can be used. Your library card number will be calv + your student ID / lunch number (e.g. calv12345.)
Photo Databases
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
- Image Quest This link opens in a new window
College and Career Resources
Royalty Free Music & Sound Effects
- Audio Micro (Free Sound Effects)
- Free Play Music
- Free Soundtrack Music
- Incompetech
- Partners in Rhyme
- Public Domain 4U
- Purple Planet